This year the School of Jewellery celebrates 125 years since its founding in 1890. It was set up with the support of Birmingham Jewellers' and Silversmiths' Association, who selected the first teachers and urged individual members to contribute towards its running costs. Members also contributed cash prizes to encourage the maintenance of high standards in an industry that was growing steadily in late nineteenth-century Birmingham. To commemorate the occasion, we've joined with Library and Learning Services to put together a display of items related to fine metalwork in the showcase at the bottom of the main stairs in Parkside.
Alongside a copy of Scottish architect George Audsley's nineteenth-century volume celebrating the beauty of Japanese metalwork and enamelling are photographs of silverware and small copper boxes made by students in the first twenty years of the last century. We hope that current students from the School of Jewellery will take the opportunity to see some of the work of their predecessors. Why not come to see the exhibition for yourself?